Amber Lane Press

BARRY COLLINS Barry Collins was born in Halifax in 1941. His writing includes the stage plays And Was Jerusalem Builded Here?, Judgement, The Strongest Man in the World, Toads, and Atonement, the radio play King Canute, and the television plays The Lonely Man’s Lover, The Witches of Pendle, Nada, and Lovebirds.

Judgement by Barry Collins  ISBN: 0906399149 publisher Amber Lane Press
ISBN: 9780906399149
£8.99 £7.99
Buy now!


Barry Collins

Andrei Vukhov, a Russian Army Captain, stands alone before his judges. He tells of his ordeal of survival by cannibalism during a period of 60 days’ incarceration in the cellar of a deserted monastery in Southern Poland during the Second World War. Vukhov is a fiction; so, broadly, is the story he tells. Certain details, however, are factual, based on a brief description of the incident given by George Steiner in his book The Death of Tragedy.

Judgement was first given an experimental reading by Peter O’Toole at Bristol Old Vic in January, 1974. It was finally presented in September, 1975 by the National Theatre at the ICA, starring Colin Blakely and directed by Peter hall. Since then it has been performed in more than a dozen languages. (Cast 1m)

“There are some plays that demand almost as much of the audience as of their actors. Judgement is one of these. The sheer intensity of Barry Collins' monologue about cannibalism and the human spirit tears and drains... an unforgettable play.”
~ Nigel Jones, The Independent

“ extraordinary, stark and compelling play.”
~ Jack Tinker, Daily Mail

“ Barry Collins’ measured, eloquent writing ... you’ll be moved and disturbed, but palatably so.”
~ Andy Lavender, City Limits

“It is a red-raw theatrical experience of rare depth and power.”
Toby Harnden, The Scotsman

“...a stupendous achievement.”
Graham Jones, The Guardian


You can buy Judgement via this site at a discount.

Amber Lane Press, 80 Hill Rise, Richmond-Upon-Thames, Surrey, TW10 6UB
Telephone :-    +44(0)208 948 1427
Home Email enquiries Top of page
How to order